Alligator Point-Saint Teresa Association


September 1, 2018

Annual Meeting


The 2018 annual meeting of the Alligator Pt-St Teresa Association was called to order by President Terry Madigan at 9:09 am on Saturday, September 1, 2018, at Mission by the Sea Church on Alligator Drive.  Board members in attendance:  Madigan, Parker, Boldt, McCord, Metts, Novak, McCloy, Lewis, Feifer and Rippee. There were 10 others in attendance besides the board members.


Madigan reminded everyone that there would not be a board meeting on September 8 because the board meeting will follow the annual meeting.


There was no report from Franklin County Sheriff’s Office.


Committee Reports:


Membership – Metts offered membership applications. 


Social - McCord had no report but said that there would be new events in the fall.  Several members thanked Kay for hosting the cookout at her house in August.


Beautification – Madigan announced that Laurie McCarter had provided a sketch of her design for the improvement of the welcome garden. Parker reported that an owner had discovered construction debris at their house and asked if anyone else had a similar experience.  No one else in attendance reported debris.


Fire Department - Parker reported that Alligator Point Water Resource District inquired about property for additional wells or a treatment facility.  The District is investigating the idea of co-locating a facility with the fire department at the land near Hwy 98.

Feifer noted the need for new wells.  The APWRD is in negotiations with Deseret which owns the property on the west side of Hwy 98 opposite CR 370 (Alligator Drive).


Road Access Committee - Madigan reconfirmed the “road access committee” created at the August BOD meeting was intended to be combined with the previously appointed ad hoc committee which was undertaking the traffic count project related to the road issues so that there would be one committee tasked with addressing the overall Alligator Drive issues. The committee would decide on its own operating and leadership structure (subject, of course to any BOD approval that might be appropriate or necessary) Novak said that the committee had already met twice but there was no new information.  Novak, Rippee, DeHaven, Feifer, Darpel, Yaeger, and McMillan are members of the committee.  Novak encouraged everyone to attend county commission meetings on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of the month.  Rippee read the committee mission statement. A copy is attached.  McMillan reported that the road counter showed an average of approximately 450 cars per day were counted with a range from 240-875 per day. 


County Commission - Feifer reported that during discussions regarding the road project that permitting is delaying the start of construction.  He let everyone know that the water district was rolling back the tax rate.  The District currently has $1.6 million in the bank.


Feifer encouraged as many as could to attend the budget hearings and reported that property taxes would likely increase over last year based on the TRIM notices and budget.  Feifer reported that the county commission has restricted public comments and discussions with commissioners.  The commission seemed to think there might be a problem with the traffic counter near the intersection of Hwy 98/Alligator Drive, but took no action.


Website - McCloy noted a few items need updating - will be taken care of soon.


Security - There was no Sheriff’s office report.  Houston reported that there are problems with day trippers at Bald Point parking and trespassing on private property.  Parker recommended people call FCSO (670-8500) to report any problems.


Madigan asked if there were any updates on Alligator Drive repair.  Feifer says schedule is to begin repairs in late 2019.  McMillan noted the road committee is looking into alternative surfacing material to help alleviate the dust problem.  Lime rock gravel will be proposed to the county commission.


Elections - Parker reported that there were 71 ballots submitted, and 58 approved the slate of the following nominated officers. 


President - Jim McCloy

1st Vice President - Marvin Heymann

2nd Vice President - Bert Boldt

Treasurer - Carol Rippee

Secretary - John Murphy


Eight candidates for seven Board of Director seats are shown below.  Winning candidates (BOLD) listed in order of those receiving the most votes:

Bill McMillan

Joe Hambrose

Mike Lester

Allan Feifer

Ken Osborne

Sean Kearns

Andrea Novak

Michelle Darpel


FSU Marine Lab Update - Robert Gates, a resident of St Teresa, invited everyone to a reception at the Rainey house on St Teresa to build support for a new building campaign at the marine lab.  Gates is on the board of the marine lab and announced the plans for a new $7 million project to be located on the north side of Hwy 98 near the existing lab campus.  The project is known as Discovery Hall.  Gates provided display boards of the project and answered members questions.


Member Comments - Kimbrough asked Rippee to repeat the elections results.


There being no further business, Madigan adjourned the meeting at 10:05 a.m.


Madigan thanked everyone for their support while he was President, and members thanked Madigan for his service. 




Respectfully submitted,



John Murphy, Secretary

             *(minutes taken by P. Parker)






























Terry Madigan President, Paul Parker 1st Vice president, Eddie Sosebee 2nd Vice President,

John Murphy Secretary, Carol Rippee Treasurer


Board of Directors

Bert Boldt, Allan Feifer, Joe Hambrose, Marvin Heymann, Judy Lewis, Kay McCord, Jerry Metts, Andrea Novak, Ken Osborne

Alligator Point-Saint Teresa Association

Board of Directors Meeting

September 1, 2018




President McCloy convened the the September meeting at 10:10 AM.


Approval of Minutes:

Motion by Metts, seconded by Lewis to accept the August minutes as distributed.  It was adopted without objection.


Approval of Treasurer Report:

Motion by Feifer, seconded by Lewis to accept Treasurer's report. It was adopted without objection. 


With no new items for the board to consider McCloy let everyone know that he did not intend to make any drastic changes to the organization.


Metts made a motion to adjourn that was adopted without objection.  The meeting adjourned at 10:13 AM.



Respectfully submitted,



John Murphy, Secretary

 *(minutes taken by P. Parker)
















Jim McCloy President, Marvin Heymann 1st Vice president, Bert Boldt 2nd Vice President,

John Murphy Secretary, Carol Rippee Treasurer


Board of Directors

Allan Feifer, Joe Hambrose, Sean Kearns, Mike Lester, Judy Lewis, Kay McCord, Jerry Metts, Bill McMillan, Andrea Novak, Ken Osborne