Alligator Point-Saint Teresa Association

Board of Directors Meeting

November 10, 2018




The November meeting of the Alligator Pt-St Teresa Association Board of Directors was called to order by Vice President Marvin Heymann at 10:00 am on Saturday, November 10, 2018, at Mission by the Sea Church on Alligator Drive.  Board members in attendance:  Heymann, Rippee,  Murphy, Boldt, Feifer, Kearns, Lester, Lewis, McCord, Metts, Novak and Osborne.

Vice President Heymann convened the November meeting at 10:00 AM.


Approval of Minutes:

Motion by Osborne, seconded by Rippee to accept the September Annual and Board of Directors minutes as distributed.  It was adopted without objection.


Approval of Treasurer Report:

Motion by Novak, seconded by Feifer to accept Treasurer's report. It was adopted without objection.  Current balance of $45,781.


Heymann acknowledged the success of member Bert Boldt in being elected the new Franklin County commissioner for District Two.


Committee Reports:


Fire Department – Kathy Yeager reported an insurance adjustor was visiting today to assess damages to the firehouse.  If the structure is determined to be in stable condition, temporary repairs will be made.  Franklin County continues to move towards purchasing the fire department property for the purpose of creating a safer intersection.


Membership – Metts offered membership applications for anyone wishing to join APSTA. 


Social - McCord announced the community Thanksgiving dinner to be held at Mission by the Sea at 12:00 noon, Thanksgiving Day.  Please let her know if you plan to attend and please bring one covered dish.


Old Business:

As a brief introduction to the current state of Alligator Drive and solutions for securing its future stability, Heymann offered the following potential options:  raising the damaged section of road and securing both side with sheet piling; beach renourishment; create a passageway for water to flow through to the bay during storm events; construct T-groins.  All of these methods require continued maintenance which the County believes local residents should fund.  Current estimates on armoring the road with sheet piling are $7.5 million.

Feifer provided the membership with additional information.  The State of Florida transferred ownership of Hwy 370 to Franklin County in 1977.  The majority of previous repair work has been funded by FEMA.  Franklin County is one of the wealthiest (per capita) in the state.  The County expects residents west of the damaged section of Alligator Drive to fund the $500,000 match for FEMA repairs.  Feifer reports the County currently has an unknown amount of cash reserves – possibly several million dollars.  He also believes the County has lost significant sources of revenue due to the 31 houses lost to erosion in recent decades, and to decreased property values resulting from the tenuous condition of our primary road.

FEMA rules prevent them from funding comprehensive repairs, however waivers can be requested to allow for additional mitigation.

Feifer is in the process of setting up a meeting between the Governor, Franklin County, and Florida Department of Transportation to discuss solutions.

One solution being considered by Franklin County is to construct a boat ramp at the FSU property along Alligator Drive so that west end property owners would have water access to their homes.

Feifer informed Commissioners Sanders and Parrish of the full page letter signed by 143 local property owners which is slated to appear in three issues of the Tallahassee Democrat.  He also asked the County to help fund a lobbyist to work on the County’s behalf to have possession of Alligator Drive returned to the Florida DOT.  The commissioners were not amenable to this request.  Local lobbyists who own property at Alligator Point have agreed to do the work pro bono.

Osborne announced his intention to offer a motion for APSTA to fund the balance of the newspaper letter and to hire a lobbyist to work on our behalf.  Feifer asked Osborne to hold his motion.  The Concerned Citizens of Franklin County have agreed to support Alligator Point residents in their efforts.  Feifer also would like to see full support by APSTA.

Feifer encouraged all local residents to contact their state and federal representatives in support of a permanent solution to Alligator Drive.  They should include critical issues such as life safety (fire; EMS) and water supply in their letter.  He will distribute bullet points of other issues that should be cited.

Heymann suggested Franklin County should include Alligator Point representatives in any discussions they participate in regarding solutions.  Also that local residents should consider a lawsuit against the County should they move to abandon Alligator Drive.


Osborne made a motion to adjourn that was adopted without objection.  The meeting adjourned at 11:43 AM.



Respectfully submitted,



John Murphy, Secretary







Jim McCloy President, Marvin Heymann 1st Vice president, Bert Boldt 2nd Vice President,

John Murphy Secretary, Carol Rippee Treasurer


Board of Directors

Allan Feifer, Joe Hambrose, Sean Kearns, Mike Lester, Judy Lewis, Kay McCord, Jerry Metts, Bill McMillan, Andrea Novak, Ken Osborne